Down the pan

My attempts of blogging at least once a week seem to have gone down the pan, eh?  I shouldn’t set myself any goals, and then my subconscious wouldn’t rebel against them so much.

Last week was tough.  On Wednesday evening, L came home from nursery and was clingier than usual.  He hardly ate his dinner, and wanted to sit on my lap the whole time.  After dinner, he said his “tummy hurt”, so after making sure that he was settled, the children sat and watched t.v.  After a while I noticed he was looking really pale.  So I decided to skip bathtime and put them to bed.  A little later, L came down saying his “tummy hurt” still, so he lay down on the sofa.  It seemed to get worse, and while he was talking, I noticed…uh-oh…he’s heaving…so I grabbed him (around the stomach with him facing away from me, in retrospect not very conducive to not vomiting, but at least it was on the floor and not on me).  But we didn’t quite make it to the toilet in time, and once he’d started throwing up (just outside the toilet with the door open), I just let it continue.  A. I would have had to have stepped in vomit to get there.  B. I would have had to have stepped in vomit to get there.

So after this huge upchuck, panic set in, but I tried to stay calm, even though the cats were sniffing around the vomit *gag*.  I changed L’s clothes, wrapped him up in a blanket on the sofa, then set about cleaning up sick that seemed to be EVERYWHERE.  I am terrible with sick.  I’m sure most normal people are, but really awful.  I often end up adding to it myself before I’m finished cleaning it up.  It was the one thing that stopped me going into nursing when I was younger…the thought of having to deal with sick.  Blood, broken bones, gashes, all of that stuff is fine, but sick….ugh…But remarkably I managed to clean and disinfect the offending areas without throwing up at all.

Now there has been influenza going around the nursery, but I didn’t think that it usually included vomiting, but Google told me that it sometimes did in children, so I feared the worst.  H had sniffles and a sore throat too, so I decided to keep them off for the following day.  L was actually much better the next day.  I assumed it had been something he ate at nursery.  Actually, I knew exactly what he’d eaten, and I didn’t need the menu to show me that…if you know what I mean.  So fried squid..you are no longer a friend of mine.  And jelly..not a good combination for a dodgy tummy!

Later that night, H’s temp. started going up, but she wasn’t complaining of any stomachache.  I gave her some Calpol and hoped that she wouldn’t hurl too.  Next day, I called the nursery to tell them we were staying off, but that I didn’t think it was flu, just a cold, and L a stomach bug.  But I decided to take them to the docs. anyway.  I chose the docs. a few minutes drive away, because although I like to talk in English with the doc., and understand everything that’s going on, a forty minute drive seemed a little cruel when H seemed to be much worse.

The place was pretty empty.  After I took their temperatures, H- 38.5, L- 36.4, we waited for our turn.  We didn’t have to wait long thankfully.  I really didn’t like the idea of them playing with the germ infested teddies and other toys in their play area.  H went first, and after that high temp., and checking the usual stuff, out came the humungous cotton bud…

“I’ll do a flu test,” the doctor said.  H looked at me with wide eyes and an open mouth.

I quickly said, “they’re going to test for flu and put this up your nose, and it’s going to hurt a bit, but be brave, ok?”  So they started putting it up this small child’s nose until it looked as if there was no room for it to be anymore, and H was scrambling and trying to pull it out, and then they made me hold her hands down and then I started trying to calm her down by saying such stupid things as, “let’s count” and “it’s ok”, which didn’t work at all.  H who usually doesn’t cry when she gets an injection (even when she was a baby), was literally SCREAMING in the doctor’s surgery.  Oh it was horrid 😦  After about one minute we got a positive for A-type influenza…

When the doc. said, “ok, L’s turn”, I was shocked that he didn’t turn around and bolt it.  But he sat up on the chair, and gave the doc. a big smile and the usual giggle and wriggle when she put the stethoscope on his tummy.  Thankfully, she didn’t want to do the test on him, since his temperature was normal now.  She just thought it was a stomach bug, as expected.

So off home we went and I gave H Tamiflu and she pretty much slept on the sofa for the whole day, waking up at lunch time and eating a piece of toast.  Her temp. peaked at 39.8, which was pretty scary.  She had a febrile seizure when she was a baby, and I’d had no idea what it was.  I had picked her up and ran, in the middle of the night, pregnant and in my pyjamas, to the nearest doctor.  That had happened at 39.4 degs., so I’m always nervous when her temperature goes above 39…The doc. had given some suppositories for reducing the fever, but I hate those things.  They usually come out, and then you don’t know whether you should give another in case some was absorbed, and you have to wait 12 hours in between doses, etc. etc. etc.  so I gave her some Calpol and she slept through the night.

Next day she was like a completely different person.  L was fed up though, so I took him out to the park.  To be honest, we were both desperate to get out.  H was a bit jealous, but she was still feeling a bit under the weather, so she kind of understood.  I should have known something was up when after ten minutes at the park, L said, “It’s cold Mummy, let’s go back to the warm car.”  This is almost unheard of.  Usually however long we are at the park it’s not long enough.  And there are always tears when it’s time to go.  He fell asleep in the car, and he felt really feverish after we got home.  Thankfully, Y was at home, seeing as it was a Saturday, and he searched for a doc. that was open.  For some reason (I don’t really know why), he chose to go to a usual doc. as opposed to a paediatrician.  He came home (thankfully he’d had to deal with the cotton bud) with Relenza…

“What on earth is that?!?” is what I said (although this is the cleaner version), whipping out my phone to check the recommendations as I was fairly sure this was a drug for older children/adults.  Hmmm, from age SEVEN, it said.  On GlaxoSmithkline website.

“Was this doctor a bit rubbish?” I asked (again, this is the cleaner version).

“He didn’t seem as if he knew what he was doing,” Y replied.

“Well L’s not taking that.” I replied (c.v. ok, my language was bad that day, but really, giving a three year old meds meant for at least a seven year old?!?!).

“He pulled out the leaflet and read that it was ok for children,” Y said regarding the doctor.  Bloody hell, we’re not going there again.  Thankfully, we managed to get an appointment with another doctor.  A paediatrician with a good reputation where we’ve been before.  I gave strict instructions not to let this doc. do another flu test, and not to come home with more Relenza.  Thankfully, he did not, L got his Tamiflu, and the next day he was much brighter too.

Yesterday, Y decided to use Relenza as a preventative measure (apparently this is effective).  I thought this was a bit silly, but I suppose since we have the medicine, and we didn’t have to pay, as they were prescribed for a child, why not I suppose.  Y seems to think we will both get the flu anyway, but I have been really careful about hygiene and disinfecting, so my fingers are crossed!

I have to give major credit to my husband this weekend though.  He helped so much.  I was feeling worn out yesterday and he went out and did all the shopping, vacuumed and did the laundry.  Then I was able to take a shower, do my hair and feel a bit more normal.  I’m really very lucky to have such a helpful husband.

Today both children seem so very much better.  I didn’t really think Tamiflu would do much, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised.  Now we all have cabin fever, so I think we’ll go for a drive after lunch.  Going out without properly going out.  I think it’ll do us all the world of good.  Stay healthy!!

2 thoughts on “Down the pan

  1. god, what a week!!! I’ve never been given tumiflu but just the word puts me on edge after hearing news about it being given to teenagers (which isn’t good?) and a couple of them jumping off balconies and things, a couple of years back.
    Hope you are all back to normal soon.
    xxx

    • Actually, when the chemist told me that’s what the doc. had prescribed, I was a bit on edge too. I remember those teen stories and how it affected children in a strange way. But then nobody actually confirmed that the delirium was due to the drug or the fever of the flu. Fever can do strange things to your head…But safe to say I haven’t left their sides since they started taking it, and was so paranoid that I cancelled Sunday’s lessons for fear of my husband falling asleep and the kids jumping out of windows X(…doesn’t bear thinking about, does it?

Leave a Reply

