Kill me nooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

Day seven of the winter holiday, I can’t believe there are, oh at least 705 more days.  Ok, not quite so many, but they are off until 10th January.  And even then, 10th is a 9-11 day only.  I hate the holidays.  First of all because I think, ‘oh, that’s ok, I can spend some time with the children and we don’t have to get up early and go outside in the freezing cold’.  Stupidly, I must forget this every time a holiday comes around, we DO have to get up early (because I can’t sleep when someone is pulling at my cover and playing hide and seek under my blanket while giggling and screaming), spending time with my children is all very well, but I do have work to do around the house as well, and if we don’t go outside, the children turn into manic bouncy balls of craziness.

Yesterday I awoke to screaming, banging on floors and a general feeling of misery at the thought of my children, especially H who seems to have turned into a hyperactive monster overnight, spending the whole day bouncing off the walls.  I don’t give my children sweets and all that stuff, but wow, if I did, all those e numbers would have to be seen to be believed.  I think Y must be slipping them into their cereal in the mornings.  I’m sure some of you are thinking, ‘if she didn’t want to spend the day with children, why did she have them?’  Well there are many reasons, but it’s bloody hard work.  Plus with them going to kindergarten now, I’m not really used to it.  And I think that’s maybe why they’re out of sorts.  Their routine is different too.  So after breakfast yesterday, I decided to take us to Omiya to spend their book tokens.  They have bookshops in Gunma too of course, but I thought a train trip and a bullet train home would tire them out and hopefully make a nice day out for us all.  It was fun I guess, although really hot in Saitama!!  We had wrapped up waaaaaay too warm.

The children both fell asleep in the car on the way home from the station, then woke up enough to eat dinner and crashed out in bed again after their five new books.  Then this morning began as yesterday’s had.  I’m tired, I’m grumpy, it’s cold, they’re bored.  Tomorrow, I really need to take them out to the park or something, I was just too busy today.  Y is off work tomorrow, at least that’s something, although that doesn’t always mean someone helps me.  I feel a bit crap.  Like I can’t do it and keep my sanity.  I don’t know.  Having children is hard.

4 thoughts on “Kill me nooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

  1. I feel your pain – for not quite so long though as the kids kinder is only on winter vacay from 29th to 3rd and then its back as normal on the 4th. I have booked a whole 2 day one night trip for the 2nd and 3rd just because the thought of having to entertain them everyday here is painful. Two young to be left to play outside unsupervised, to old to just sit and amuse themselves sucking on the corner of a book or something.

    Perhaps when they are a bit older and a bit more independent I will enjoy these times more. I guess I should be thankful Shou doesn’t start school till he is nearly seven as at least in the kinder system the holidays are short 🙂

    Ganbare.

    Now, do I pick up more shit off the floor or have a coffee. hmmmmm. I know which ones going to make me get through the rest of the day. God, its nearly 3 o’clock. Only a couple more hours till I can have a wine.

    xxx

  2. Oh you are very lucky! The trip sounds good. I’m pretty sure I should have been making plans for doing something out of the ordinary, but to be frank, I’m just really tired. Today was better, even though our meal times were all out of whack and they have only just ended up going to bed.

    I really hope that you chose coffee over shit on the floor x

  3. I love to read your blog. It’s honest, which is refreshing in the electronic age where everybody looks like they have it good. Or just better?. So not that I sit and pat myself on the back when others have a tough time, but somehow it keeps me chill when i have days that suck. Generally those are the days I will not blog. Silly hey? Guess those are the times when I should, to de-clutter my thoughtspace but you know.

    • Yes, I know what you mean. Misery loves company, ha ha! My life is all about the good, the bad and the ugly, so why not post it all 😉

Leave a Reply

