Food weeks 2 and 3

It’s been a while since I posted my shopping, and in the interests of continuity, and to see how much we consume in a month, I’ve decided to carry on for the rest of this month. After that, probably not, because getting all the food out onto the table and then over to the kitchen is a bit of a pain 😉  Plus I think it might get a bit tedious.  As our pay day is on 21st of the month, I calculate the budget so that one month is from 21st to 20th.

This may seem very dull to some, in that case, jog along XD I like to do the best in what I have to do, and budgeting, cleaning, cooking, shopping, child-raising, it’s all a job. I’m not saying that I ALWAYS put in 100%, but I like to think that I’ve learned a lot over the past five years. Although I’m not studying or in a paid job, I feel very happy to have learned (always still learning ;)) how to look after a house, new recipes and cooking techniques, about health and well-being, etc. I really do love food, everything about it, especially the appearance!

Week 2

This came to a whopping \11,333, but if you take a close look, that includes two five kilo bags of rice.  Now I generally only buy one five kilo bag at
a time, but in the classic case of heart over head, I bought this rice from Fukushima to support the farmers, and two bags were \3,900   I will usually only pay around \1,500 for a five kilo bag, so it was \900 more than necessary.  Oh well. There are also boring things, such as dishwasher powder, washing up sponge, and bin liners.  Peppers weren’ton special today, but I bought one anyway.  I also went to another speciality food shop this week, so I spent an extra \2,000 on things like cereals and yoghurt bars.  Our meals for that week were:

Tuesday – Spicy Lemon Pepper Chicken and couscous

Wednesday – Sweet and Sour Chicken with rice

Thursday – Pasta with Cod in white sauce
(this was a change to the plan, and pretty gross, but it was the only thing H
wanted to eat after she damaged her front tooth and couldn’t bite)

Friday –  Roast Chicken, steamed vegetables, potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and gravy

Saturday – Sandwiches made from home-made bread  for lunch and Pork Curry for dinner

Sunday – Spaghetti Bolognese for lunch,
then MIL took hubby and the children for dinner while I was at work.

Week 3

Ok, so I just went to the supermarket with no meal plan. I scribbled one down quickly and then off I went to shop, so we’ll see how the ingredients etc. work out later on in the week!  I think I have pretty much all I need.

The total of this shop came to \4,616  I have some things left in the fridge from last week, broccoli, cabbage, lettuce, kiwi fruit, pineapple oranges, so apart
from maybe milk and juice, I’m pretty sure this will last us a week.  The meal plan for this week is:

Tuesday – Pork and Pineapple Curry

Wednesday – Fish and Chips with salad

Thursday – Grilled Chicken Salad

Friday – Paysanne Pasta or maybe Carbonara

Saturday – Pork Stir Fry

Sunday – Hamburgers with rice and grilled
vegetables

Monday – Chicken and Apple Balls with butter pasta and steamed vegetables

I’m hungry just thinking about it…

BREAD

Ok, so I know I said that I wasn’t eating much bread these days?  Well thanks to my lovely Mother and Michel Roux Jr., last week I ate lots.  My Mum sends me DVDs from home regularly.  My sister used to do it, and then my Mum picked up on it too, and now she records all my favourites.  We have Sky E2 here,but I am really thinking of cancelling it. It costs \3980 a month and all we really watch on it these days is American Idol and Thomas.  The children have DVDs they could watch, and most of the American programmes I could watch online if I wanted to.  Anyway, It’s a thought.  So although there are plenty of programmes in English here, I miss British t.v. So my Mum sent me a parcel recently, and there is a new series called the Great British Food Revival.  The first episode with Michel Roux Jr. (who I LOVE) talking about REAL bread.  I have been baking lots of bread with the bread machine, but I fancied having a go at some real bread, and when he showed how to bake a simple sandwich loaf on the programme, I ran out to buy a bread tin (took me all morning and four shops to find one), and spent an evening mixing, kneading, rising, kneading, rising, and baking.  It took ages, but strangely enough, I rather liked it.  I could do one step, then go off and do something else, then keep coming back to the bread for the nextstep.  The time periods are long enough that you can get stuck into something else properly while waiting.

The recipe can be found here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/sandwich_bread_loaf_93879

I didn’t have fresh yeast, or any idea where to get it from, so I used 7 grammes of dry yeast instead.  I also didn’t have golden syrup, so used
maple syrup.  The recipe online differs slightly from the one seen on t.v.  Step number 5 is to rise for about 30 minutes, although I’m not sure
this is necessary when using dry yeast, but I did it anyway.  In Step number 7, “sharp knife” is like a Stanley knife or paper cutter if you like.
I have several sharp knives, but none of them would properly slice through the tops of the dough without wrinkling.  And ta-da~~~

 

It was really yummy!  Sliced like a dream, smelled like bread that we used to buy from the baker, with a hard crust and soft bread inside.  YUM!!
If you try it, I would love to see pics!

4 thoughts on “Food weeks 2 and 3

  1. that loaf looks yum! what oven do you have? we had a microwave / real oven before but it was tiny. just big enough for a small roast chicken..

Leave a Reply

