Happy Birthday – 4 today!

My little Chef

  

Yes, it’s been disgustingly long since I updated my blog.  This is mostly because the bedtime routine with the children takes so long since L decided he is my shadow and can’t exist without me.  If I stay upstairs with them until he falls asleep, I inevitably fall asleep too, and then either stay that way, or rush downstairs, tidy up and then whisk myself off to the gym, Y present and willing.  This week has been a bit of a blur.  Not really sure why, because it’s only been a couple of days, but included me stupidly mistaking an Amazon purchase for a marketplace purchase, or the other way around, you know what I mean…so instead of being able to get a quick delivery in time for H’s birthday, it means H’s birthday evening is here now and no “main” present.  I finally decided on getting this: http://www.amazon.co.jp/%E3%83%AA%E3%83%BC%E3%83%97%E3%83%95%E3%83%AD%E3%83%83%E3%82%B0-%E3%82%B9%E3%82%AF%E3%83%AA%E3%83%96%E3%83%AB%EF%BC%86%E3%83%A9%E3%82%A4%E3%83%88-%EF%BC%93%EF%BC%8B-Leapfrog-Scribble-Write/dp/B0039L0GHE/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=toys&qid=1284544021&sr=8-2 which I think looks great fun!  Let’s hope she thinks so too…  

But in terms of birthdays, she did pretty well, even if she didn’t want to get out of bed this morning!  This is very confusing to me…children usually can’t wait for their birthdays, right?  But come 8 o’clock, and she STILL didn’t want to get up!  I think it’s because Tuesdays really knocks it out of them, especially her.  All day at kindergarten, and then afternoon and early evening at temporary daycare while I work, then a late dinner and bedtime.  I pick them up at 6p.m., but that particular daycare is open until 8p.m.  I can’t imagine having to do that, nor would I want to, but I suppose in some cases, it’s necessary financially, so I feel kind of lucky that it’s not quite at that stage.  

So I had asked H what she wanted to do on her birthday, and she said, “paint with my gel pens”…that was it…what a mean mother I am not to let them paint whenever they want to.  Here I am thinking trips to safari park/theme park/some kind of park, but no, painting.  It’s a good job really, because it rained all night last night and today, so it turns out her plan was the best!  We’d bought a ream of paper for her easel, so both children painted on there, which worked out for a little while.  Then on to playing Guess Who…one of my favourite childhood games!  But wow, the people have changed.  It’s more politically correct, I suppose, but there are still only about four women and the same characters have just changed race…pretty funny.  H coped quite well with it, despite it being an age 6 recommendation.  The only thing she can’t do is to read the names, but that’s only really an issue at the end of the game anyway.  In terms of the elimination process, she got to grips with it much more quickly than Y..he confused it all, ha ha.  

So now, a cake later (ugh, didn’t make one, cake shop was closed, so had to go to another cake shop, slightly inferior, but the cake tasted good anyway), some cornflake cakes that H and I made together, I am feeling slightly sick and must definitely get my podgy cake filled tummy to the gym tonight.  Stuck at 61kilos…..poo…  

Leave a Reply

