Long week, but great shopping bargains, and a lovely skirt ;)

Ta-daaaaaaaaa!

facing ready to stitch

facing

  

zip ready for stitching

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been that long since I posted.  This week has been a long one to say the least.  L has decided that he is no longer happy, or even semi-happy to be having to fall asleep on his own at night.  It is the week of tantrums revisited.  Just when you thought it was safe to put L to bed…we have to start the back in bed routine (every time he comes out of the room, I put him back to bed without engaging in conversation with him).  Several times in an hour.  Pretty much constantly.  He has been finally falling asleep, but then coming into my bedroom at around midnight and spending the night in our bed.  Last night was particularly bad.  Y said he would do it, so I came downstairs and left him to it, although I told him if it got too much, to switch with me.  I said this, because I know how wearing it can get, but I know it’s important to stick with it.  Otherwise, he will just think he can get what he wants by throwing a tantrum.  And if we give in halfway, he’ll know that’s the level of tantrum he needs to reach.  Y knows this.  But about an hour later, he came downstairs having taken a movie of a sleepy L at the door, talking to him about why he doesn’t want to sleep.  Great.  What fun will tonight bring now… When he woke up at around 2a.m. I lay down with him in his bed for a while.  He fell asleep, started dreaming, and then woke up screaming.  I asked him if he’d had a bad dream, and he nodded.   

“What did you see?” I asked him.  

“The naughty step,” he sobbed.  

Poor thing.  So he slept in my bed once again…oh dear.  Cycle broken, cycle restarted.  All in all, not a very successful week on the parenting and sleep fronts, but never mind.  

On the positive side!!  I picked up some crazy bargains from our kind of local discount supermarket.  A kilo of chicken breasts for 400 yen, tofu for 19 yen, and beansprouts for THREE yen…yes, that was a shocker.  It makes me wonder how they can make a profit, but then I suppose it gets people coming in, and not ALL of their stuff is that cheap either.  Y likes the bargains, but hates the place as he says it’s “full of chavs”, ha ha, funny, but true.  

Well two days ago I FINALLY drafted the skirt pattern from my measurements, and then yesterday, I made it.  I have been putting it off and putting it off.  I followed instructions from “Sew What Skirts” book, and it seemed a bit confusing.  But when I actually started making and following, it all kind of made sense.  The skirt is a low-hipped A-line, and is a little big, so I will know to make some alterations in the future, but I’m really happy to have finally made something for myself (apart from a bag…).  

Leave a Reply

