Hanami (Cherry Blossom Picnic)

Yesterday we went to Shikishima Park in Maebashi to look at the cherry blossom桜 I thought it would be crowded there and there was a possibility that we wouldn’t get parked. When we got there, all of the usual parking spaces were gone, and people were parallel parked at the side of the usual spaces.

At that point, I realised that I hadn’t parallel parked at ALL since I took my driving test! How weird, if I lived in the U.K., I would have to do it all the time, but here there is less occasion to have to park on the side of the road, or to be allowed to車(セダン) The space was pretty tight, and Yusuke was twitching in the passenger seat, so when I asked him if he wanted to do it, I think we were both quite relievedあっかんべーexclamation ×2

After a few minutes of trying to squeeze the car into the space, I suddenly watched him drive out and slot into a normal space that had since been left by another car車(セダン) Yay!

The blossoms at the park were so pretty. We found a sunny spot and sat and ate. Hannah hadn’t had her usual morning nap, so she was manic with sleepiness眠い(睡眠)あせあせ(飛び散る汗) She found it endlessly fun to chase after her little ball down a slope. Yusuke thought it was great exercise, but I worried that she would get more tired out and crochetyぷっくっくな顔 (which is of course what happened…)

After a while we decided to go and see the spring display. Gunma has spent a lot of money this year on flower parks. Lots of beautiful flowers, fountains, greenhouses, etc. It’s so pretty that I hope they keep it well maintained指でOK Yusuke mentioned that they might only have it there for this year, which would be such a waste!

Later that night, we watched a DVD Catch and Release, which was a really good “feel-good” movie. I was annoyed that the night before we had rented “No Reservations” and it turned out to be a remake of “Mostly Martha”, a German film that I love. The remake was ok, I suppose, but a bit Hollywood..バッド(下向き矢印) If you haven’t seen either, I would definitely recommend Mostly Marthaわーい(嬉しい顔)指でOK揺れるハート

Leave a Reply

