Ikaho

Last Sunday afternoon we went to Ikaho Spa for Yusuke’s birthday. It only took about 45 minutes to get there, and was an easy drive until we got to the actual hotel車(セダン). The hotel (Kishigon Ryokan) is situated halfway up the Stone Steps Street , so you have to drive up a really steep winding road to get there from street level. It had been snowing there and there was a lot of ice on the roads雪. We don’t have snow tyres on our car, and couldn’t find the chains, so I was a bit nervous冷や汗. I drove up a road that I SWEAR was almost vertical雷. I thought the car was going to flip backwards with the force of gravityげっそり衝撃. When I met a mini bus coming down the other way I was ready to cryげっそりexclamation ×2 I kept telling myself: “it’s ok, it’s ok, the car is great!”わーい(嬉しい顔)目 What a loser!! Eventually, we made it up to the hotelホテル

As we pulled up, about 5 old ladies wearing kimono greeted us at the carチューリップ. The parking man took our car back down to one of their car parks (humphh! After all my efforts!!)バッド(下向き矢印) We were ushered in, taken to the lobby for tea and sweet cake, and then shown to our room. The room was 10 tatami, so plenty big enough for the three of us, and the view was lovely (see photos on Facebook)富士山. We went out for a walk up the stone steps to the shrine at the top. It was pretty cold there compared to Maebashi, so we were only out for about an hour before hurrying back for dinnerレストラン.

Dinner was served in our room, and was a huge spread! After that we took a family bathいい気分(温泉). This was nice, but quite late for Hannah (8-9p.m.). I usually put her to bed before 8p.m., so she was looking quite tired眠い(睡眠). After the bath, we were all exhausted, so decided to hit the sack. Hannah had her own futon, but of course couldn’t lay stillあせあせ(飛び散る汗). She was running around the room for a while before eventually crashing out 40 minutes later at about 10:15

Hannah’s futon was between mine and Yusuke’s, and they were both asleep. After a while, he started to snoreがまん顔 I usually whack him on the arm and he stops, but he was too far away, so I pulled the covers over my head and tried to ignore him. Then my legs got cold..I got out of bed, woke him up and asked him to lie on his side. That worked for a while, and I fell asleep, but then he started again…ぷっくっくな顔

I got woken up at about 5:30a.m. by his alarm that he had set so he could take a morning bath before breakfastいい気分(温泉). I was way too tired and Hannah was still asleep. Of course she woke up just after he left, so we had a pretty restless nightふらふらあせあせ(飛び散る汗).

The breakfast was buffet style, and yumレストラン. It was a lovely inn and a relaxing atmosphere, but unfortunately by the time we got back home, we needed a rest to recover from our breakバッド(下向き矢印)exclamation ×2

new DecolinkParser().start(‘diary_body’)

Leave a Reply

