New! (and also a little old…)

I just realised that I haven’t posted anything on here since I came back to Japan. So here is the first of a few, copied from my Japanese blog:

Yesterday (September 19th) I went to Isobe Nursery and Creche to meet the Headmistress. First I had to go to Takasaki to the teaching agency. I had left the house one hour before at 8a.m. to allow for the rush hour traffic and in the event of my getting lost. Yusuke set the location on the car’s navigation system, so technically, it should have been ok. The traffic was really busy, but I got into the area at around 8:45, only to find that the road I wanted to turn into was a one-way streetふらふら There are so many of these in Takasaki..

I am crap at directions, but managed to get into the designated car park, luckily finding a parking spot right on the ground floor. I arrived at the office at 8:59わーい(嬉しい顔)あせあせ(飛び散る汗)exclamation ×2 After a brief discussion, we set off for Isobe in his car. It seemed to take forever to get there, and I started to regret thinking about working there. We chatted a little on the way, but it could in no way have been called an interview.

When we got there, however, the headmistress was very nice. A strong, charismatic old lady who seemed to know all of the childrens’ names (there were over 100). I was shown around the creche, which was very clean and new. If I want to, I can put Hannah in there while I’m there teaching for a small charge (1,200 yen). They have a seperate room for 0-2 year olds, where there were about six children and three adults looking after themるんるん. I arrived at snack time and all of the children looked very happy.

I met ALL of the children there, and then we drove over to the nursery. It is only a couple of minutes by car. The nursery has been around a lot longer than the creche, so the building is not as new, but still clean and tidy. Once again, I met all of the children there. They all chanted “Konnichi-wa Laura sensei!” (“Hello Laura ‘teacher'”)! We went in the hall and there were about 40 children in there. On hearing that I had a one year old daughter, one of the girls said that she was sad, because she wanted to be friends with herハート. Then another girl said she wanted to introduce herself, so they ALL introduced themselves individuallyわーい(嬉しい顔). The headmistress lives in a house on the nursery grounds. I was quite surprised at how small her house was. She obviously cares a lot more about her schools揺れるハート.

Needless to say, it all took quite a while, and we were there for about an hour. We went back to the Takasaki office where I picked up the materials for next week’s demo lesson. I’m looking forward to it, but as with any new job, am a little nervous about how it will work冷や汗. I’m hoping that the language barrier won’t be too much of a problem.

do_decolink(‘diary_body’)

Leave a Reply

