My eventful non-event…an epic tale, Part I

Thursday 31st August

On Thursday, I went to Omiya to meet my friend Kaori for lunch.  First I have to take the bus for about 20 minutes, then get the train for an hour and a half.  We went to eat and I felt really full.  I thought at first that was all I felt and that I’d just eaten too much (there was a foccaccia buffet..need I say more?).  Then I thought I just needed the loo, but I didn’t.  After we walked around the department store a little bit more, I started feeling a little bit worse, and worried about being so far from home, so I decided I should go.

I paid the extra to get the bullet train to Takasaki (saving about an hour) and sat next to an old woman with a dog, who leaned over and said, “I have a dog.  Don’t you mind dogs?”, which I think meant something like, “I have a dog here, is that ok with you?”  She talked to me a lot, which was a bit irritating, because I was worried and didn’t really want to have to act pleasant.  She was very nice though, and quite concerned about me.

When I got to Maebashi station, I had to wait 20 minutes for the bus, and finally got home at around 6p.m. and lay down until Yusuke got home.  I read all my baby books and got a bit concerned because I read something in my hospital file about my symptoms being the same as placenta abruptio, where the placenta comes away from the wall of the uterus.  When Yusuke got home, I decided it might not be a bad idea to call the hospital.  They said because my back hurt and I was having period-like pains, that I should bring my bag and come in for a check-up.

When I got there, they gave me another NST and the doctor told me that I was having contractions every 4 minutes, which was a bit of a shock really, as I hadn’t thought it would be anything like that!  He said that I was 1cm dilated, and that because I’m only 36 weeks, their policy dictates that I should have drugs to delay my contractions. 

We decided on a private room at first, because then Yusuke would be able to stay there overnight on the sofa in that case.  We moved into the room at about 11:30p.m. After the drip started to take effect, I started feeling really awful.  My contractions stopped, but I had a fever, my heart was racing, my hands shaking, a rash on my hands and feet and I felt nauseous.  I actually felt worse than when I was having the contractions.  I finally managed to get to sleep at about 3:30a.m.

Friday 1st September

Yusuke had to start his new job that day, so his sister Kyoko (who now works from 2p.m.-6p.m.) came over that morning to keep me company.  Yusuke managed to get the afternoon off work, and Miyoko did too, so they came in the afternoon.  My doctor (Dr. Sato) came to see me and we found out that technically there shouldn’t be any danger to me or the baby to give birth while I was still at 36 weeks, but technically he couldn’t stop giving me drugs while I was still premature becuase it’s their policy to do so.  After some deliberation, I decided to come off the drip, and take some weaker pills that may or may not stop my contractions.  The risk to this was that if I went into labour in the middle of the night, Dr. Sato wouldn’t be there to give me an epidural.  It’s hard to remember now what the drip was like, but I think it was pretty bad, because at the time, not being able to get pain relief was the least of my concerns.

After they took the drip away, I was able to take a shower and change into lovely clean granny hospital pyjamas, which made me feel better.  The drugs from the i.v. ran out eight hours later, so I felt much better when I woke up the next morning.

Leave a Reply

