Saturday 12th August

When I woke up, it wasn’t so hot.  It had rained a little during the night, and was really pleasant, so I got up at around 9:30 and we went to the cafe for breakfast.  At about midday, we went to the library to return the rubbish maternity video that I’d hired out a fortnight ago, and I renewed the book about elementary education in Japan.  It’s about an Australian boy whose parents decide to put him in the domestic education system instead of going to an international school.  It looks interesting enough for what it is, but I find it really difficult to get started on it.  I’m not usually a reader on non-fiction, so it’s a bit boring looking.  Anyway, I have another two weeks to try to read it, so we’ll see…

After the library we went over to Cainz Home (D.I.Y. shop) to get some wood.  The shoe cupboard we have by the door here is much smaller than the other one, and we can’t even fit our shoes in properly, because they’re too big.  How rubbish is that?!  Anyway, Yusuke had the idea of putting shelves on top of it, so we bought some wood to do that, but haven’t actually built it yet.  I’m not really sure how it’s going to work.

We went for lunch in an Italian restaurant that just opened this week.  The actual restaurant was very nice and bright, but there was a really strong draught blowing on my arm the whole time, and our pizza was a bit rubbish.  I think a lot of it was to do with the cold gusts, but all in all, it was just a rubbish pizza.  That’s one less temptation.

Came home after that, feeling quite tired, and watched “Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind” on t.v.  I’d seen most of it on an aeroplane journey once, but I’d missed the end of it when they’d cut it off when we were descending.  I’ve seen quite a few films like that, which is a bit poo.  Anyway, in the final scene, I could have sworn I heard a bird flapping about in our kitchen, so I ended up missing the last few words – of course the most important, and made Yusuke miss it too, and needless to say, there was no bird in our kitchen..so if anyone’s seen it, can you let me know what they said at the end??

 

 

Leave a Reply

