Baby Update V

After having fasted since the night before, I got up at 6:45 and we headed for the hospital at 7:15.  When we got there, it was really quiet.  As my new regular doctor was in Tokyo for a conference, they’d put us down for his father (the owner of the hospital).  I went for a blood test and they gave me a bottle of really really sweet pop.  They told me I could drink it slowly, but then my number was on the screen telling me to go and wait in front of the doctors office door, so I ended up having to chug the last part of it.  While we were waiting to see the doctor, I started feeling a bit sick after not having eaten anything before having to drink that rubbish. 

After all that, his nurse came out and told us he was running late, so if we wanted to, we could go and see another one of the doctors or we could wait a bit longer.  Being impatient as I am, I decided to see another doctor.  It turned out that this man was a bit rubbish really.  He seemed nice enough, but he was a bit doddery and old.  His nurse didn’t even know what he was asking her for, and I ended up without a scan picture this time for some reason.

The baby has turned, so her feet are now at the bottom and her head at the top.  He said because it’s only 32 weeks, the chance of a breech birth is only 5% and that I should do some pose (basically where I lie on the floor and stick my bum in the air for 10 minutes every night before sleeping) for the next two weeks to encourage the baby to turn around.  Other than that, everything’s fine.  He said the pain that I’ve been experiencing is probably just from the baby’s position, and that’s just where her head is right now.  My protein and everything else is fine, so I just have to wait until my next appointment to find out the results of the glucose tolerance test.

After going for a much needed lunch in Takasaki, we went home and watched “The Towering Inferno” on t.v.  I had no idea it was so long…

Leave a Reply

