Tuesday 1st August

Today was surprisingly productive for me.  I slept in until 10:30 until I woke up with the sound of the postman’s motorbike.  My back was really aching.  Having gone downstairs and found an empty postbox, I came back upstairs and had breakfast.  I watched Supernanny, which was about a 7 year old boy with a food phobia.  It was actually a really nice episode, because I didn’t really feel stressed out by it.  The boy was a good boy, but just afraid of food after having had gastric flu as a younger child.  I felt very happy after seeing everything turn around and I decided I would wash the new towels and sort out my drawers. 

Although I boxed up all my jumpers in the winter, I hadn’t taken my ‘only fit when I’m not pregnant’ clothes out of the drawers.  Instead, what I’d done was to put all of my maternity clothes into one drawer and had five other drawers of clothes that I can’t wear for at least the next six months.  I had a feeling that this wasn’t really a good thing for my mood, so I filled a bin bag full of clothes that I can’t wear right now.  It was quite sad to think I’d missed a summer of nice skirts and dresses, but they’ll come in handy next time.

After I’d finished, I felt as if a huge weight had been lifted.  Isn’t that weird??  So now when I go to my drawers, I don’t have to sift through all my pretty clothes to get to my maternity clothes (which are just as pretty really).  I also moved the chair in the living room to the spare room and vowed to go in there and sit by the window to read a book for an hour a day.  It’s not so hot today either, so that could have something to do with my energy levels being a little bit higher.

Today I’m entering my 32nd week, which in Japan, is the beginning of the 9th month, as pregnancy in Japan is counted as 10 months (not calendar months).  It’s kind of weird to think that I have such a short amount of time left.  I’m hoping that after I go to the hospital this Saturday, the doctor will want to see me once a week. 

I’m going to take advantage of my energy rush now and carry on working on my poncho!

Leave a Reply

