Baby Update III

I dragged myself out of bed on Saturday morning at 6:30 to get ready to go to the hospital.  As my regular doctor (Dr. Kubo) has left, and her replacement is not taking full hours yet, I had to make an appointment with Dr. Sato, who is the son of the owner of the hospital.  Ms. Fukuda (the woman who works in the office who interprets for me) suggested that I make an early appointment time because he’s often very busy.  So I made the appointment for 8:30  This appointment is the second of three special check-ups that I’ll have throughout my pregnancy.  I have to pay about 60 pounds for the pleasure.

We left the house at 7:20 and it was really hot alreadyImage We arrived at the hospital at about 8:00, which is because we are supposed to be there 30 minutes before the appointment for some reason…

Firstly they took some vials of my blood, which didn’t hurt so much this time.  The last woman that did it couldn’t get my blood to come out at all, so I ended up with two big bruises on both of my arms.  After that, we waited for what seemed an eternity.  I suppose it’s busier on a Saturday because most people aren’t at work.  Finally we were invited in for a scan.  The baby’s position was really good to be able to see as much as possible.  The woman who scanned, said it would have been good if we could have done a 3D scan on that day, but they don’t do that on Saturdays, so we couldn’t.  Anyway, we saw the baby’s face really clearly, and she suddenly gave a huge yawn and stretch, which looked really bizarre on the screen because we could see her jawbone really clearly!

Baby’s weight and height is really good for her age apparently.  She now weighs 1265 g.  not sure about the height measurement, but the woman seemed happy about the measurements.  After that I got to see Dr. Sato, who is in his 30s or 40s and seemed a bit cocky.  He could speak a little English though, which was helpful.  He was much faster than Dr. Kubo, and I didn’t really feel as looked after, but I suppose it’s because he’s busy.  I didn’t have a chance to talk to him about the way they do their epidural, but Ms. Fukuda said something to Yusuke about administering the epidural before the contractions start, which I’m a bit confused about.  They inject another drug to help me feel the contractions when it’s time to push, so a little different from the information that I’ve been able to gather elsewhere.  I wish they’d be more specific.  I’m going to go in with a list of direct questions next time.  After that, I went to see the midwife, and then got a free drink at the cafe.  I was quite relieved when it was all over.  I’d been a bit stressed about seeing a different doctor.  My next appointment is in another fortnight. 

 

Leave a Reply

